top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabbie Rene Keen

My Current Skincare Routine

Today I am going to be sharing my much awaited skincare routine. Some of these products have been staples in my routine for awhile and others are new products that I have recently incorporated. I split this post into my AM routine and my PM routine to make it easier.


Morning :

1. Cleanser- Indie Lee Brightening Cleanser

This is a cleanser that is fairly new to me, I have only been using it for about a month. I fell in love with it from my first use. This is a very gentle cleanser so it may not be for everyone. I am pretty picky about cleansers when it comes to the consistency and how it lathers. This comes out as a gel consistency and when you rub it in it turns into the smoothest lather. No lie, I have never felt a lather so smooth. This cleanser contains strawberry seed oil so it does have a strawberry scent. The scent does not smell artificial at all, it smells exactly like fresh cut strawberries. I generally prefer my skincare not to have scent, but this one smells amazing. It is not strong or overpowering, and it dissipates after you rinse it off.


2. Toner/Serum- First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Wild Oat Hydrating Toner

There are so many reasons why I love this toner. It has amazing ingredients like colloidal oatmeal, glycerin, squalene, and wild oats. It helps with several different skin concerns that I struggle with like dryness, fine lines, and redness. It is also fragrance free like most products from the brand.


3. Moisturizer- Clinique Moisture Surge

This has been a staple in my routine for almost two years. Even when I try a new moisturizer I always end up coming back to this. I love the lightweight gel texture, especially in the summer months. It does a great job at keeping your skin hydrated and feels smooth on the skin.


4. SPF

I am still on the search for the perfect sunscreen. I am currently using CeraVe Hydrating Sunscreen and while I like it, it’s not my favorite. It is not as drying as some sunscreens but it does leave a white cast on my skin. I really like the Coola Silk Creme SPF 30. It’s a physical sunscreen with no white cast, goes on smoothly, and is fragrance free. The reason I did not repurchase is because it is pretty pricey to be using everyday. It is $42 for 1.5 oz. I have ordered the cult favorite Krave Beauty sunscreen, and I will be trying it as soon as it arrives.


Nighttime:

1. First Cleanse- Banilla Co Clean It Zero Cleasning Balm

I love cleansing balms as my first cleanse at night. They are less messy than typical oil cleansers and they last a long time. Banilla Co has a few different options, but I use the original in the pink jar. Once warmed up on your skin, it changes from a balm to an oil. It literally melts away all the makeup and SPF from the day.


2. Second Cleanse- Indie Lee Brightening Cleanser


3. Toner/Treatment- Tarte Knockout Tingling Treatment, Vitamin C, Retinol, or serum

This is the step that differs depending on the day. During this step I treat my skin depending on my skin concerns that day. I use Tarte Knockout treatment when I want to address acne and exfoliation. This product is high in acids, so when first starting out I recommend using it once a week and work your way up. I use Vitamin C a few times a week on nights I am not using acids, but you can also use Vitamin C during the day. I am currently using Ole Henriksen Truth serum, but it is not my favorite as it contains a lot of fragrant ingredients. Once I finish the bottle I will be replacing it with a different brand and switching it to my AM routine. Right now it is between Drunk Elephant and Summer Fridays. I am soon going to incorporate retinol into my nighttime routine also. Retinol is used to address and prevent aging and can be used for acne as well. I purchased the Versed Gentle Retinol because as the name says, it’s very gentle. This is great for people just starting on retinol but it is still strong enough to do the job. If my skin is feeling irritated or overly dry, I will skip all of these products and use a calming toner or serum such as the COSRX Snail Music Essence.


4. Moisturizer- First Aid Beauty BarriAIR Cream

I often switch up my night time moisturizer based on my skin and the climate. Generally, I like a more light weight moisturizer during the day, and a thicker moisturizer at night. When I use a thicker consistency at night it really hydrates and repairs my skin overnight while locking in all my products. The barrier cream is a unique, fluffy, cloud like consistency in the jar, but when you apply it to your face it turns into a smooth cream. During the winter months when my skin is super dry, I switch to something a bit thicker.


5. Lip Mask- Laneige Lip Sleeping Mask

Now that we have hydrated the rest of our skin, it’s time for lips. I love this mask so much I have it in 3 flavors! This mask is thick so it’s the perfect consistency to lather your lips up for overnight hydration. In the winter especially, I struggle with dry, cracked lips. This is a miracle worker for my lips and it smells great too. You only need a little, so it will last you such a long time.


Occasional Products:

-Glow Recipe Watermelon Sleeping Mask- for hydration and exfoliation

This mask contains glycolic acid and lactic acid to exfoliate your skin and leave it feeling smooth. It also has hyaluronic acid, watermelon extract, antioxidants, and peony root, which all have beneficial properties.

(When using this I do not use step 3 or 4)


-Origins Out of Trouble Mask- for acne

This is a 10 minute rinse off mask. It contains salicylic acid, zinc oxide, and sulfur. These ingredients are all great for acne and breakouts. However, it is very drying so I only use this once a week or twice if I’m having bad breakouts.


-Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser

This is the cleanser I have been using for about 2 years. Although I have recently switched to the Indie Lee, I still love and recommend this cleanser. I will continue to purchase this cleanser because not only does it do a great job at cleansing, it also hydrates. I absolutely love the texture and it leaves my skin feeling so plump instead of stripped. It is also good at removing left over makeup, including mascara.


-Glossier Balm Dotcom- perfect daily lip balm

This lip balm is basically just fancy Vaseline, but I love it anyway. It has great ingredients for your lips like castor seed oil, beeswax, and lanolin. I keep one in my purse at all times. It really does hydrate and repair your lips. It comes in a variety of color and flavor options.


Skincare is therapeutic for me and a great way for me to start and end each day. I like trying out new products so I do switch up my routine quite frequently. My best advice is to start simple and incorporate more as you go. You do not want to add in multiple products at once. Starting one new product at a time allows you to identify if that product is helping your skin, or if it is causing irritation or breakouts. If you start multiple products at once and have a reaction, you will be unsure which product caused it. If you are new to skincare and wanting to start a routine, check out my last blog post on “How to Start a Basic Skincare Routine”. As always, feel free to message me here on the blog, or on instagram if you have any questions.


144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page