top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGabbie Rene Keen

Things To Do During Quarantine/ Social Distancing

Updated: May 14, 2020

Coronavirus, we all hear about it a thousand times a day. We see the numbers, the news articles, the memes, and every other post telling us to “wash your hands” (which you should), What I haven’t seen a lot of is what to do with all this extra time on our hands. Coronavirus has most of us self quarantined at home. Chances are after a few days/weeks we’re going to run out of ideas and start getting bored. Today makes a week of being home and I’m already starting to get bored! Here are some things you can do while staying home and flattening the curve.

-Self care

During this stressful time, don’t forget to take care of yourself. Light a candle, take a bubble bath, and do a face mask. Maybe self care for you looks like remembering to take a break from the chaos and start that book you’ve been wanting to read. Deep condition your hair or give yourself an at home manicure. Anything to pamper yourself.

-Get Creative

This can be a variety of things. For me, I pulled out an adult coloring book that I already had and started coloring. It sounds kiddish, but it’s actually relaxing and makes time go by quickly. If you have a canvas or paper laying around, paint something for your home. If you have a Cricut or vinyl machine, make something you’ve never made. DIY that home project you’ve been wanting to do but never had the time.


-Organize

This is the perfect time to clean or organize that space that you rarely get to. For instance, I organized my closet and it has never looked better. I got rid of clothes I no longer wear, and organized them neatly by color. Next project is to organize my shoes! You can organize your pantry, or that Tupperware cabinet that is a hot mess. If your dresser is like mine and starts off neatly folded but is now a jumbled mess, work on that.

-Get moving

Don’t let being home keep you from moving around. Take a walk outside or do an at home workout. Try out something that you’ve always wanted to do, like yoga. If you have kids, try You-tubing “Kids Yoga” and try it together, it’s really cute.

-Youtube

Watch something that you want to know more about. Learn about skincare, perfect your makeup routine, teach yourself a new dance (or Tiktok).

-Connect

FaceTime a family member that you can’t go see. Call an old friend and catch up.

-Games

What a great time to bring back board games. I loved playing board games as a child but I feel like nowadays most games are electronic. With all the time, we’ll finally be able to finish an entire game of monopoly. If you’re not into board games, or you’re home alone like me, play virtually. If you have an iPhone you can play things like Battle Ship over text using Game Pigeon. There are also game options on Snapchat now. Download an old game you use to love, like Trivia Crack, and play a friend or random opponent.


-Read or Journal

What a perfect time to start a new book or start a daily journal. Before things started closing I picked up a new book to read because I knew we would probably be stuck at home for a while. If you don't have a new book, grab one if you have to make a Target run. Or you can reread something you love, or try to find the online version. If you are religious this is a great time to start a new devotional, there are many online options. I also bought a prayer journal to write down my prayers, worries, and blessings.


-Watch TV

This is pretty self explanatory. Catch up on your favorite TV show that’s sitting in your DVR. Grab some popcorn and binge watch that series on Netflix you’ve never had the time to do. Rewatch your childhood favorites on Disney+.

Now that you have ideas, make a schedule. Personally, I feel better when I have some sort of schedule. I like to plan things out and I like having a routine. I know myself too well, and if I don’t plan out my day I’ll end up laying around and won’t get much accomplished. Of course you can still take mornings slow, and work at your own pace. I’ve noticed that I feel better when I get up at a decent time and start getting things done. Will you stick to the schedule every day, probably not! But that’s okay, as long as you’re making an effort to get moving and be productive. Everyones schedule will look different, especially if you have children home. I’m home alone so I get bored rather quickly and need to keep myself occupied. Make your schedule any way you want, if you’re a gym rat you, make several times to exercise. If you’d rather get your work finished earlier, do it, if you want to sleep in, do it. The pro if this situation is you can do choose to live your day however you want. This is the schedule I made for myself during this time:

8:00- Wake up and lounge

8:30- Get up, get ready for the day (Brush teeth, wash face, get dressed, or stay in your jammies)

8:45- Make bed and straighten up bedroom

9:00- Breakfast and quiet time

9:30- Start usual chores that need to be done (laundry, vacuum, etc)

10:00- Work/school from home (I personally only have a few things I can do each day so it doesn’t take a very long time for me.)

11:00- Creative

12:00- Lunch

12:30- Something Productive (This can be organizing, deep cleaning the house, wash and clean out your car, cut the grass, ANYTHING! So far I have organized my bathroom cabinet and clothes in my closet. Next up is my shoes and my dresser. There is probably so much to organize; pantry, linen closet, Tupperware cabinet, dresser, etc.)

1:30- Free time (Play on your phone, watch TV, etc)

2:00- Finish up any work

2:30- Get moving (home workout, take a walk, online yoga, etc.)

3:00- Self care (take a bubble bath, put on a face mask, paint your nails, do a hair mask, self tan, etc.)

Now by this time I would be home from work, so I treat the afternoons like I normally would.

Hopefully you now have a few ideas to keep you busy. Try to keep a positive mindset about the situation, and use the free time to your advantage. I hope that you all stay safe and healthy during this time. xoxo






49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page